Nimbus Records on Facebook Nimbus Records on Twitter Nimbus Records on YouTube



Nimbus Music Publishing

 Augusta Read Thomas signs with Nimbus Music Publishing


American composer Augusta Read Thomas has signed a publishing agreement with Nimbus Music Publishing, the publishing arm of Nimbus Records.


The New Yorker Magazine called Thomas 'a true virtuoso composer.' Rising early to the top of her profession, a member of both The American Academy of Arts and Letters and Academy of Arts and Sciences, former Chairperson of the American Music Center, Augusta has become one of the most recognizable and widely loved figures in American Music.

Augusta was the Composer-In-Residence with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra for Daniel Barenboim and Pierre Boulez from 1997-2006 during which time she composed nine works for the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. She has won a Grammy and received the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize. Her composition Astral Canticle was one of two finalists for the 2007 Pulitzer Prize in Music. Recently, the Sovereign Prince of Monaco appointed her Chevalier awarding her the Order of Cultural Merit, which was presented at the Prince's Palace on 18 November 2015.

Augusta Read Thomas says 'I am very honored to be starting a new relationship with Nimbus Music Publishing and am looking forward to a fruitful partnership in the years to come.  Nimbus Records longstanding commitment to the music of our time exemplifies their inspiring leadership and vision.'

According to statistics released last year by ASCAP, a performing rights organization, Augusta topped their list of most frequently performed living composers in 2013-14.

Nimbus Music Director Adrian Farmer comments 'Every record company and music publisher wants ‘stars’ in its catalogue. In Gusty we have been fortunate to find a composer of enduring brilliance, one who has already been recognised, and who is poised to do their very best work. Our job, and one that we relish, is to make her voice heard internationally.'

Following a career-long relationship with G. Schirmer (Music Sales), which still owns the copyrights of her complete works to date, starting 15 November 2015 Augusta's next works will be published by Nimbus. Forthcoming works include Klee Studies for Piano Trio to be premiered by the Neave Trio on 10 April 2016; Venus Enchanted for Solo Violin commissioned by Jennifer Koh as part of her 'Shared Madness' project; and Violin Concerto No. 4 to be premiered by Baibe Skride in 2017.

Augusta began her relationship with Nimbus in January 2014 when Nimbus Records began releasing a series of recordings devoted to her music. Nimbus have now issued five discs with a sixth scheduled for release April 2016. Her first release, NI6258, was nominated as one of six finalists in the Gramophone Classical Music Awards for 2014.

                NI 6258 - Selected Works for Orchestra (Jan 2014)
                NI 6261 - Chamber and Piano Works (Mar 2014)
                NI 6262 - A Portrait of Augusta Read Thomas (Jun 2014)
                NI 6263 - Music for Strings (Nov 2014)
                NI 6306 - Astral Canticle (Apr 2015)
                NI 6323 - Of Being is a Bird (Apr 2016)

Nimbus Music Publishing was launched in 2014 to publish and support music on two fronts: in publishing the works that were never published or have fallen out-of-print, and in supporting the work of living composers.

Augusta will join the British composer Richard Blackford and trumpet virtuoso/composer John Wallace on the Nimbus Music Publishing catalogue.

For more information contact or a copy of our catalogue please contact:
Antony Smith
Nimbus Music Publishing, Wyastone Leys, Monmouth, NP25 3SR
Email: • Tel: 01600 890 007