Lloyd Symphonies Nos. 4, 5 & 8



Special Price £13.63 Regular Price £19.99
In stock
Catalogue Number
Review "The directness of [Lloyd's] expression coupled with the catchiness of his themes makes his music almost irresistible to listeners fed up with arid atonality and eviscerated serialism. Each Symphony here is gigantic in scale - the four-movement Fourth lasts an hour - and each stands a good chance of thrilling those who have worked their way through the English symphonic canon looking for a melodically appealing composer as brightly colourful as Bantock, structurally spacious as Bax, and harmonically advanced as Stanford. The Philharmonia gives [Downes] performances of persuasive professionalism. Lyrita's early 80s stereo recordings sound wonderfully clear and open." James Leonard, allmusic.com *** PENGUIN GUIDE 2010
© 2010-2023 Wyastone. All Rights Reserved.