Spirit of England Volume 1

"The Birmingham-based English String and Symphony Orchestras under William Boughton are completely at home in this repertoire. One has only to sample the excitingly animated account of Holst's St Paul's Suite (which also has much delicacy of feeling), the ideally paced Warlock Capriol Suite, or the vibrant account of Britten's Frank Bridge Variations, to discover the calibre of this music-making."

The Penguin Guide (Rosette and 3 stars)



In stock
Catalogue Number
Review "These are wonderful performances of some of the most timeless works of the British repertoire. Poignancy, refreshment, peacefulness and exhilaration all reside here and not only because of the nature of the compositions but also because of the sensitive conducting of William Boughton. The works of Vaughan Williams are especially tuneful and musically fulfilling, but simply permit Delius' Summer Evening and Butterworth's A Shropshire Lad and Banks of Green Willow to wash over you. Pieces like Finzi's Suite from Love's Labours Lost, Parry's Lady Radnor's Suite and Britten's Variations on a Theme By Frank Bridge are colorful, beguiling and, at times, exotic. Finally, the works of Elgar and the others are given characterful and musically satisfying treatments as well. The entire set is aptly named. You can enjoy these discs by listening intently or just for background. Very highly recommended."- Jeffrey Lee
© 2010-2023 Wyastone. All Rights Reserved.